The Cruel Prince Book summary by Holly Black (download pdf)


“The Cruel Prince” is the first book in the “Folk of the Air” series by Holly Black. 

It is a dark and enchanting fantasy novel set in the world of the fae, where political intrigue, betrayal, and treacherous power struggles are commonplace. 

The story follows the journey of a mortal girl, Jude Duarte, who finds herself caught in the dangerous web of faerie politics.

TitleThe Cruel Prince
AuthorHolly Black
PublisherLittle, Brown Books for Young Readers; Reprint edition (December 4, 2018)
File Formatpdf
Number of pages416 pages
Customer Reviews4.4 out of 5 stars 38,367 Reviews
more information about the cruel prince by holly black

see also – The House of Hades Novel summary by Rick Riordan (download pdf)

The Cruel Prince Book summary by Holly Black 

Jude Duarte, along with her twin sister Taryn and their older sister Vivienne, is taken to the realm of Elfhame when she is just a child. 

There, they are raised by the man who murdered their parents, Madoc, a powerful faerie general. 

Jude battles deceit and cruelty, striving to earn her place among fae who scorn mortals in “The Cruel Prince.”

As she matures, Jude becomes entangled in the complex and dangerous politics of the faerie court. 

In “The Cruel Prince,” she dreams of fae knighthood but faces obstacles and Cardan’s torment in her quest.

Jude’s determination and resourcefulness drive her to navigate a treacherous path of intrigue, power struggles, and betrayal. 

“The Cruel Prince” is a story of ambition, survival, and the complexities of love and hate. 

“The Cruel Prince” delves into identity, power, and moral ambiguity in a world where appearances deceive and uncertainty reigns.

see also – Verity Book summary by Colleen Hoover (pdf download)

The Cruel Prince Book summary by Holly Black 


“The Cruel Prince” by Holly Black is a captivating and darkly enchanting fantasy novel that immerses readers in the intricate and perilous world of the fae. 

“The Cruel Prince” establishes the foundation for the “Folk of the Air” series, hinting at further intriguing twists and turns in Elfhame’s world.


Is the book suitable for young adult readers?

 Yes, it is classified as a young adult fantasy novel.

Are there more books in the “Folk of the Air” series?

Yes, it is the first book in a trilogy. The series continues with “The Wicked King” and concludes with “The Queen of Nothing”.

What distinguishes the book from other fantasy novels?

it is known for its morally gray characters, intricate political intrigue, and the unique blend of modern and traditional faerie lore.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like